Los Arcos-Logrono Day 7

Image Posted on

This post will be a bit different from the others due to the fact that I spent most of this day in bed.  But, there are still a few things to be said for the journey to Logrono.

Mel and I woke up to feelings of nausea on this morning.  It took me nearly half an hour just to pack up my pack.  I’d put in my sleeping bag, then lean up against the bed.  Load up my toiletries, then lean against the bed.  After finally getting my things together, I walked downstairs to grab something easy to eat, like a banana, toast, or tea.  As soon as the door to the kitchen opened I smelled a strong pot of coffee that had already been made and I knew it was time.  I dropped my pack, ran upstairs, pushed Mel out of the way and made it to the bathroom just in time to empty the contents of my stomach into the nearest toilet.  I mean, there really wasn’t anything left.  I cleaned myself up, apologized to Mel, who didn’t look like she was doing so well either, and ate some dry cereal before stepping onto the trail.

There wasn’t a bus stop for us to get to Logrono from Los Arcos, so we had to hike to the next town in order to catch a bus.  Those 5 km to the next town were the hardest steps I took the entire month on the Camino.  To keep my mind off of how terrible I felt, I counted how many times I could sing a song to myself before we reached the next town.  I wish I could remember what song it was.

After Dom talked to some locals and found out the bus schedule, Mel and I sat down and waited for the bus to Logrono while Dom and Caroline hiked on for the day.  We sat and waited for at least an hour and a half for the bus that wouldn’t come.  Eventually, a couple of police officers parked nearby us and appeared to be waiting for someone.  In my broken Spanish, and with the help of my iPhone translator, they eventually understood that Mel and I were sick and trying to get to Logrono.  They then proceeded to take us in their vehicle to the nearest clinic where the officers ushered us past 2 other people in the waiting room and directly to the doctor.  After communicating with the doctor through google translator for about 20 minutes, he gave us a prescription and called a cab to take us the 20 some odd kilometers to Logrono.  At this point, I didn’t care how much it cost, I just needed a bed.

After a 20-30 minute taxi ride, to which I was falling in and out of sleep, we arrived at the agreed upon albergue where we would meet up with Dom and Caroline.  Mel and I payed and thanked the driver, got our pilgrim passports stamped, and went straight to bed.  We did not leave our bed for the entire day except for when I got up to go to the restroom once.  I quickly turned around and went back to bed because of the dizziness.

Something really cool happened while we were in bed for the rest of the day.  People that we’d been hiking with for the past week started showing up to stay in the albergue.  I don’t know how many people came by to check on us, ask us how we were doing, fill up our water bottles, and keep us company.  5 or 6 days ago theses people were strangers, and now Mel and I had people running an errand for us to go pick up our prescriptions for us!  These selfless acts showed the true character of the Camino pilgrim to me.

Destination: Logrono

Distance: 28.6 km

Accommodation: Santiago Parish- As far as I know, the parish was a solid place to stay.  I didn’t leave the bed except for once, but what I saw was nice.  Solid showers (meaning plenty of hot water), good kitchen, I’d stay here again.

Sorry, no pictures this post.  Had to concentrate on not throwing up instead of taking pictures.

Leave a Reply

